To receive the newsletter

Association La Muse Amusée                                   About the festival

Join the association                                                                        Thanks

Press kit                                                                         La Parole Errante

Press                                                                                                 Gallery

Follow us on facebook / Instagram

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

WOMEN UNDER THE DICTATORSHIP

Thursday, 25th July, from 2 to 4 pm

 

 

With Sonia F. Lauro and Martina Chavez

 

 

We will address the situation of Uruguayan women under the dictatorship that took place in the country from 1973 to 1985, at the time of Operation Condor.  Operation Condor was the name given to a campaign of anti-guerrilla actions, assassinations and tortures in Latin America, led by the Chilean, Argentinian, Brasilian, Paraguayan and Uruguayan secret services with the help and support of the United-States between 1970 and 1985.      

Thousands of activists and leftists made political prisoners suffered terrible tortures that often led to death and/or disappearance. Women – composing a small part of the prisoners group – were considered as spoils of war and violently attacked.  The aim was to destroy them through their particular state of being women. 

After the restoration of democracy, a group of women started to assemble from 1997 in order to address the terrible abuses they suffered – including sexual abuses – and thus recover dignity. Meetings occurred regularly for several months, gathering about 300 women. 28 of them lodged a formal complaint – personal as well as collective – to demand justice and to make known the facts that every women had endured and that could not be further ignored by society.      

That legal fight is still ongoing today.  The entire society should know about it and women should be able to free their speech !  We will talk about the difficulties encountered while fighting for the recognition of these lese-humanity crimes, a fight that still has to be pursued today, 40 years after the facts.

The Human Rights defender Martina Chavez from Argentina will be with us to share her dreadful trestimony as a former political prisoner in her country.

 

Sonia F. Lauro is a Human Rights defender.  She is involved in the association Dónde están? (Where are they?) and used to be a public servant specialised in education.

An ethno sociologist and Human Rights activist, Martina Chavez is involved in an organization of former political prisoners of Argentina.

Mairie de Montreuil

Free entry

A prize pool will be organized to raise funds that will be donated to the 'Donde Estan association?'
for actions to support the families of missing and murdered detainees in Uruguay during the dictatorship.

Donations can be made directly to the festival or via the registration form, noting the amount.

Inscrivez vous à notre newsletter

Association La Muse Amusée                                A propos du festival

Adhérer de l'association                                                 Remerciements

Dossier de presse                                                         La Parole Errante

Presse                                                                                               Galerie

Suivez nous sur facebook / Instagram

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

LES FEMMES SOUS LA DICTATURE

Jeudi 25 Juillet de 14h à 16h

 

 

Présenté par Sonia F. Lauro et Martina Chavez

 

 

Nous aborderons aujourd’hui, la situation des femmes uruguayennes sous la dictature qui a sévi dans ce pays de 1973 à 1985. C’était l’époque du « Plan Condor ». Ce Plan est le nom donné à une campagne de lutte anti-guerrilla, d’assassinats, de tortures conduite par les services secrets du Chili, de l’Argentine, du Brésil, du Paraguay et de l’Uruguay avec l’aide et le soutien des États Unis, entre 1970 et 1985 en Amérique latine.

Des milliers des militants et sympathisants des mouvements et d’idées de gauche faits prisonniers politiques ont été victimes des terribles tortures  les conduisant souvent  à la mort et/ou la disparition. Les femmes, nombreuses parmi les prisonniers, ont été considérées butins de guerre, violemment agressées dans leur condition particulière des femmes, visant à les détruire en tant que telles.

Une fois la démocratie rétablie, un groupe de ces femmes a commencé à se réunir à partir de 1997 pour parler des terribles sévices subis y compris sexuellement et retrouver ainsi la dignité face à elles-mêmes. Des trois cents femmes qui  se sont retrouvées régulièrement pendant des mois, 28 d’entre elles ont déposé une plainte en justice, à titre personnel et collectif pour réclamer justice, pour faire connaître à la société toute entière des faits qui ne pouvaient plus continuer à être  ignorés par la société et que toutes  les femmes avaient subis.

La lutte juridique commencée continue encore aujourd'hui, mais la société toute entière a le droit de savoir, elles ont le droit de libérer leur parole! Nous parlerons des difficultés rencontrées pour la reconnaissance de ces crimes de lèse humanité et leur combat qui doit continuer presque quarante ans après...  

La militante et défenseure des Droits Humains,  Martina Chavez, originaire d’Argentine est avec nous aujourd'hui et nous livrera son témoignage poignant de l’enfer vécu en tant prisonnière politique dans son pays.

 

Sonia F. Lauro est militante des Droits Humains. Elle fait partie de l'association Dónde están? Où sont-ils?
et ancienne fonctionnaire : spécialiste en Education

Ethno sociologue militante des Droits Humains, Martina Chavez fait partie de l'association ex-prisonniers-ères politiques argentins.

Mairie de Montreuil

Entrée libre / Participation libre

Une cagnotte sera organisée pour récolter des fonds qui seront intégralement reversés à l'association Dónde están?

pour des actions de soutien aux familles de détenus disparus et assassinés en Uruguay pendant la dictature.

Les dons peuvent s'effectuer directement via paypal, en indiquant en objet 'donde estan', mais aussi au festival pendant la conférence, à tout moment à l'accueil, ou bien via le formulaire d'inscriptions en notant bien le montant.